Lodge Fortrose, No. 108, was officially formed on 16 August 1769, the date on which its Charter was actually received in Stornoway. It had, however, existed since November 1767, when the Brethren had carried on the principles and tenets of the Craft, knowing that their Charter was ‘in the post’.
Over the centuries, the membership of Lodge Fortrose has included many Stornoway worthies who, in their various ways, were connected with the commercial development of the town. Indeed, much of the history of Stornoway is closely tied in with the Lodge, acting as it did as ‘a common ground for the common good’ of the growing Burgh. In ‘A History of Lodge Fortrose, no. 108, Stornoway’, George Clavey writes: “It would be quite impossible to relate here every social event which took place in these halls since 1822, but the surviving records amply show that the heart beat of a vibrant, thriving and ever growing community resounded loud from the walls of Lodge Fortrose for over a century and a half.”
In 1967, two hundred years after its foundation, Lodge Fortrose was re-consecrated and the letting of the premises was discontinued. In recent years, however, the lower floor of the building, now the function room is proving a popular venue to let with it’s large kitchen.
The members and guests can relax in the bar area putting the world to rights over a game of darts or snooker. The antique snooker table was donated by Lord Leverhulme in 1923, who owned the Island, and was an affiliated member of Lodge Fortrose 108.